DIY Waxed Trousers

You guys might remember when I posted a while back about the Zara Waxed Trousers that I wanted to badly before they got sold out!

 

Well, Because I’m Addicted has posted a tutorial for how to wax any regular old pants! This i the answer for all of my problems… sort of.

 

Anyways, as you can see, it seems really easy to do!

1. Spread the otter wax all over the jeans

2. Heat it up with a blow dryer while adding, and spreading around the wax as needed to patch thin parts to make a water proof seal

3. Allow the pants to hang in a cool, dry place for 24 hours to let the wax set.

 

Then you are good to go! I already ordered my Otter Wax. (super cheap on amazon!) Anyone want to do it with me? We can have a waxing date!

5 comments
  1. I’ve been thinking about trying this with some canvas. The trick as I see it would be to uniformly apply the wax / Paraffin so there aren’t many blotches or patchy parts to it. That’s why I’ve just been thinking about it and not doing it. The jacket I want to wax isn’t easily replaceable.

  2. I can try it out and see how easy it is and if it works really well, then you can try it! i’ll let you know!

    • You could always dry clean them. If I were to wash a waxed cotton or canvas I would hand wash in cold and hang to dry, from experience with Oilcloth.

Got somethin' to say?

